Home National India beat Australia by eight wickets

India beat Australia by eight wickets

India beat Australia by 8 wickets in the Dharamsala Cricket Test and clinched the four Test series 2-1. India achieved the target of 106 runs for the loss of two wickets in their second innings on the fourth day of the 4th and final Test a shortwhile ago.

KL Rahul and Ajinkya Rahane completed the formalities as India reclaimed the Border-Gavaskar Trophy with an eight-wicket win over Australia. This is India’s fourth straight series win at home this season which began with the 3-0 whitewash of New Zealand. They also defeated England 4-0 and Bangladesh 1-0 and now hold series wins over all the Test playing nations. 

For the hosts, Lokesh Rahul was the highest scorer with 51 not out while Ajinkya Rahane remained unbeaten at 38. Earlier, India resumed their second innings’ play at the overnight score of 19 for no loss. With this victory, the hosts also regained the Border Gavaskar Trophy.

After securing a vital first innings lead of 32, India took a firm grip on the match by skittling out the visitors for a paltry 137 in their second innings. For the hosts, paceman Umesh Yadav, spinners R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja took three wickets each, while Bhuvneswar kumar claimed one wicket.

The scores so far:- Australia – 300 and 137 all out; India – 332 and 106 for 2.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here