Home Politics Elections for 10 state assemblies with Lok Sabha ?

Elections for 10 state assemblies with Lok Sabha ?

Prime Minister Narendra Modi seems to be determined to go ahead with his idea of simultaneous polls to both Lok Sabha and Assemblies. Already NITI Aayog has prepared detailed road map for such elections by preparing a position paper.

As per the indications available from the government sources, despite apprehensions and opposition, the Centre is all set to set the ball rolling by clubbing many state assembly elections with the General Election for the Lok Sabha due for April-May in 2019.

Terms of as many as 10 assemblies get over in 2019, six of them in the first half and the rest towards the end of the year. They are: Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Rajasthan, Sikkim and Telangana.

The Niti Aayog has come up with the idea of implementing the idea in two phases, the first with the Lok Sabha in 2019 and the second during the latter half of 2021. The paper does not clearly say how the tenure of the Lok Sabha will then be synchronised with states going to the poll in 2021.

While the paper acknowledges that the Constitution allows curtailment but not extension of tenures of legislatures, the paper suggests that states going to polls in 2021 would have a two and a half year term so that the cycle of simultaneous polls can be fixed by 2024.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here