Home Politics BJP sweeps Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand

BJP sweeps Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand

And the results for the high- stakes assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Goa and Manipur are almost clear.

In a major victory for Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) is all set to form the government in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand. It has gained unprecedented number of seats, over three fourth – close to 320 in Uttar Pradesh assembly, out of a total number of 403 seats. Last time a single part won more than 300 seats was in 1977 by Janata Party.

The Samajwadi Party and Congress alliance failed miserably to make a mark with only 55 seats, where as the BSP was practically collapsed with 22 seats. Though Prime Minister Narendra Modi led the campaign, it was party chief Amit Shah who put the winning strategy in place for this historic mandate in Uttar Pradesh.

Union Minister for Textiles  Smriti Irani said that people of UP voted for Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s policies. She said the PM has worked for Varanasi and that people across caste and religion voted for the BJP.

The BJP also succeeded in getting landsclide victory in Himalayan state Uttarkhand with over 56 seats, out of 70 seats. The Congress Chief Minister Harish Rawat was defeated in both the seats he contested. For the first time in this state, a party’s seats crossed 50-mark.

SP chief Mayawati pulls a Donald Trump, says EVMs did not accept votes other than for the BJP. “Either the EVMs did not accept votes other than BJP, or the votes of other parties have gone to BJP in the EVMs,” Mayawati said in a press conference. She went on to claim that most votes in Muslim-dominated areas went to the BJP, proving that the EVMs were tampered with. “Most votes in Muslim majority constituencies have gone to BJP, makes it evident that voting machines were manipulated,” she said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here