Home Politics Amarinder Singh sworn in as Punjab CM

Amarinder Singh sworn in as Punjab CM

New Delhi: Congress party’s deputy leader in Lok Sabha Amarinder Singh addressing the media in New Delhi on Saturday. PTI Photo by Atul Yadav (PTI11_21_2015_000161A)

After steering the Congress to a stupendous victory in Punjab, Amarinder Singh today sworn-in as the state’s 26th Chief Minister. The ceremony took place at Punjab Raj Bhavan and the oath was administered by Punjab Governor V P Singh Badnore.

Navjot Singh Siddhu and Manpreet Singh Badal were sworn-in as cabinet ministers. Sadhu Singh Dharamkot, Tript Rajinder Singh Bajwa, Rana Gurjit Singh Sodhi, Charanjit Singh Channi also took oath as Cabinet Ministers. Two women MLAs Aruna Chaudhary and Razia Sultana were sworn in as Ministers of State.

The ceremony was attended by former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Rahul Gandhi, Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh, National Conference leaders Farooq Abdullah and his son Omar Abdullah and former Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav attended the ceremony. Senior Congress leaders Kapil Sibal, Salman Khurshid also attended the ceremony. 

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated Amarinder Singh on taking over as Punjab CM and wished him the best in working for state’s development. 

The Congress secured 77 out of 117 seats in the state Assembly polls making a strong comeback after a decade. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won 20 seats on debut, making it the second largest party in the Punjab Assembly. The Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD)-Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) alliance fared the worst with 18 seats.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here